Gutless Magick

Just a stream of thoughts on what I like to call gutless magick…

A lot of people my age and younger that dabble in esoteric practices do so because they don’t have what it takes to do things face to face. Like getting even with people, getting a better job (or just getting one in the first place), and standing up for one’s self. Now… take this with a grain of salt, ’cause I’m talking in generalities here, and there might be plenty of exceptions from one person to another.

But lets take a kid getting bullied as an example. Some guy at school is making fun of him, but the kid is afraid to do anything, afraid he’ll get his ass kicked. However… he remembers reading something on the net about how to write out a ritual. So he does, and the object is the other kid that makes fun of him. The intent: to hurt the other kid, to teach him a lesson.

It’s a pretty simple, one-dimensional example that completely fails to take into account my view on so-called ‘bullying’, but I think it illustrates the mentality I’m talking about. In it, rather than walking up to the other kid and doing something about being made fun of, face-to-face, he turns to something that gives him an easy out from confrontation. It’s gutless.

I don’t think that’s such a bad thing, except that the idea is to at least live and learn, to take away a better understanding. I didn’t have the easiest time in school, particularly junior high, but I don’t recall ever having used esoteric methods like this, and even if I had I still wouldn’t have continued to. And don’t get me wrong, it’s not because I’m against conflict or violence… quite the contrary actually. It’s just that back then – and now – if someone was going out of their way to demean me with the intention to do so, I’d tell ’em flat out to stop or be ready to start swinging. Magick as an alternative… that’s an easy out, an excuse not to have to stand up and make clear where your boundaries are, and a way to comfort yourself and cope.

All that being said, I really don’t think there’s a seperation between perfeclty mundane ways of handling a situation and magickal ones. They’re all magickal, causing change to occur in conformity with the will (credit to Crowely for the way I phrase it here). To use the more obviously magickal means for petty little things like avoiding confrontation – confrontation being an experience worth having, when it arises – is a weak choice, in my opinion.

And like I said, there are probably excpetions to this but whether you are one or not isn’t hard to figure out. If you get a feeling of wanting to be overly defensive or feel overly insecure just over reading this… that might tell you something. And fyi, I’m not technically advocating violence here, so don’t try to blame me if you get in trouble for starting a fight.

Leave a Reply

