Ruined Wings

I was a newborn dragonfly,
Grotesque features, creepy feelers,
Decked out and eager to fly.

But I was grounded,
betrayed by earthly gravity,
frustrated, confounded.

Still stayed in soil, seeking to rise above,
I found a kerosene called love.

And my wings, so pretty, so rounded,
Were doused in noxious fluid,
I poured it on, effects untested.

My chance to soar, to explore the sky,
Albeit temporarily,
Was without a doubt, about to die.

There I stood with match in hand…
Not knowing such a thing could hurt so bad.

(Written March 6th, 2011)

3 comments

Leave a Reply

