A Threat Of Death

Simply living isn’t enough. Life needs to be hard, there needs to be a struggle to keep it and guide it’s unfoldment and tranformation; it needs to be survivalism. That can be an excuse to continually wallow in a shitty life… but when it’s not, victory forges chains of silk, and for continual growth the risks, the danger, the heights one can fall from… all of this needs to be ever-increasing.

Some would say that such an upward spiral is just living life well or to the fullest, and maybe it’s exactly that, but – for me at least – “living” doesn’t carry the implied threat of not surviving. It has less of an edge on an emotive level or personal resonance. Ben (aka Smite) was definately spot on I think (in his journal entry at the Force Academy) when he wrote about the relation and importance of risks and risk-taking in matters of the Dark Side.

4 comments

  1. Surviving is infinitely easier than living. Especially in a world that doesn’t require you to live. Survival in all reality actually requires less risk taking of the person trying to live that way. Survival is a matter of holding on to what you got and not reaching for more. Because anything else implies risk.

    If all you want to do is survive in this life, that’s simple, don’t take the risk to live. Or further….why would you only want to survive the risks you take? Survival is actually, just the lowest form of victory…certainly acceptable in the face of harsher consequences, but hardly the best one can get out of thexrisk they take.

    Fear of failure, or fear of success?

    1. If I looked at survival the same way as I used to, if it still meant the same thing to me, I’d probably agree with you. As it is though, I don’t agree at all. ‘Living’ in the sense that an avergae person does is a matter of relative equilibrium the way I see it. At least that’s the emotional feeling I associate with the word. A form of survival, the one you’re talking about, is one form but not the only one.

      What I’m saying is I need more than *just* living, I need to attain more. And yes, then I need to hold onto it. And going for even more means risking what I’ve worked for a lot of the time, there’s a threat of losing it… put another way, what I’m saying is that the highest forms of victory don’t mean anything if you get wrapped up in all the silk chains (both the ones you might be able to use, and the ones that’ll hold you back and tie you up).

      The kind of survival I’m talking about implies living to the fullest in its own way – which means going for more, and then more, and more, and each reach and effort towards that can be a big risk a lot of the time to what I’ve already grabbed – the more you live the more you risk death. It’s not about fear of failure or success. If I’m saying anything about fear, I think it’s about fear of stasis, equilibrium.

      Am I making sense?(also see below)

    1. I’m not a survivalist. To get a better idea of the way I’m using the word survival, consider what David brought up in his “The Treachery of Language” thread (and take into account what I said in my initial post there). And I’m sure you remember the focus on personalizing language that was such a trend at OotS not to long ago.

      Think of a video game. Levels tend to get harder, more difficult, more risky as you progress. And if you’ve got the game set to “easy” and it gets boring, most people up the setting to “medium”. And when that becomes well within a players ability to handle, he ups the level to “hard” and eventually maybe even something like “elite” or “god-mode” (god-mode as in extremely difficult, not as in tromping through effortlessly) or “impossible”. And when the game in all it’s aspects gets boring, it’s time for to move on to an unfamiliar game.

      Applying that as a metaphor, it’s movement, restlessness, growth, and what doesn’t kill you changes you, makes you stranger, different. Sometimes “better”, sometimes “worse”, but almost always “changed” and “different”. Stimulated. Living.

Leave a Reply

