Hope (A Hollow Stimulant)

I always liked the way Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker put it in Revenge of the Sith

“Anticipation-“
“Is distraction. I know. And I know that hope is as hollow as fear.”
-Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker, just before their last battle with Tyranus

That is, hollow in the same sense as I am. Hollow as the dark individual. There’s something there, in that hollow, but unless you’ve got intimate experience with it (and maybe only if your enraptured/immersed in it) it simply seems hollow. You just need to know/learn how to fill the void it represents. It’s a component of the dynmics involved in the gravity an individual possesses. Passion, or a black hole is ‘hollow’ in a similar sense, I think. (ref. Life of a Star, rough version/draft of The Dark Is Nothing & Fragments on Gravity)

“I found freedom. Loosing all hope is freedom.”
-Rupert(?)

It all depends on what you do with it. I see a lack of hope as freedom in a similar way to death being freedom, albeit to a lesser degree. If by ‘freedom’ Rupert means disconnected or not invested or not interested, then I guess losing hope equates to losing freedom.

A loss of hope can be liberating in the same sense that if you’re content or happy with all that you have, if you make yourself feel like or believe you want nothing more, you have the “greatest wealth” already. Like Khaos said, if it works for you then fine. But to me that seems like slave mentality, like a choice of weakness over strength, seeking contentment at all is, in that context… trying to be content with what you have instead of suffering the burn of desire, greed, or ambition is just weak.

“I do think “hitting bottom” gives you a good place to start off from though. Sort of a lease to act(which most don’t, and even those that do, only a few do honestly and in accordance with their will) because something is better than nothing, and in a real essence you can in fact, do anything. Perhaps, what you want to do…..I know, a novel thought for most.

Hence the saying “Things can only go up from here!”, lol, but most of us know better, and that there’s always lower levels that one can fall to. Still, I think that saying exemplifies hope in way, no?

Or as my first CPR instructor said, if it comes to the point that you have to perform it, you can only help at that point, so being a afraid of screwing up is an irrelevent thought.

Granted one does like to perform it as best they can, but I mean c’mon, when the heart ain’t pumping and they aint breathing, anything’s better than nothing.”
-Khaos

Yeah, there’s that to. It’s a stage to pass through in that case though, kind of like passing through the world of victim. But yes, I’ve seen that (and been there) to. Settling for it is the problem, at least for me, and it seems like that’s what a lot of people do.

“It has been said that only after you’ve lost everything are you free to do anything. Would you agree with this?”
-David

I think people can do whatever they want, right now. I can pick up my computer, throw it through my window, and trash both window and computer. I can go buy a gun and shoot someone. I can burn the bible. So can you. You might lose things in the process… a computer and a sheet of glass, your ability to roam as you please beyond the confinement of a prison, the respect of your christian neighbor, respectively. You can help a kid on the side of the road fix his bike, do a few errands for a friend, take your best friends girlfriend (who, let’s say, is a good friend of yours) to lunch. These have consequences, reverberations, too.

To have to lose everything before having ‘freedom’ is just a way of being less attached or invested or touched/affected by the consequences. It’s the easy way out, so to speak. You can do things without dealing with as many repercussions, I guess, but your losing out on the upsides as well as all the possible losses, aren’t you? It seems likes a way of going about life, but…. not my (only) way. (“Strong hope is a much greater stimulant of life than any single realized joy could be.”-Friedrich Nietzsche)

“The real question is, how can one tell what “working” is if they’ve never experienced it.”
-David

I think people generally know, on some level, if their life isn’t what they want it to be. Maybe emotionally, intuitively. If someone has never experienced it “working”, then they’ve at least experienced it “not-working”, or so I would think.

(From Hope | A Discussion at the Force Academy)

Leave a Reply

