Complimentary Ruts

“You can’t let praise or criticism get to you. It’s a weakness to get caught up in either one.”
~John Wooden

Stuck in a rut is stuck in a rut, either way. I’ve learned over time, and through plenty of trials and (disproportionately more) errors, that praise is harder for me to take in stride. I used to instinctively start worrying about living up to it, worrying that it was inaccurate and that I couldn’t live up to it. Even now, I do withdraw a bit to consider praise and check myself, but that’s more a matter of it being in my nature to be reserved; and checking myself is also more about making sure I’m not tripping myself up than it is to feel out whether I’m living up to a compliment or not.

Leave a Reply

