Lulls & Melancholy

I was browsing through some of the blogs I’ve come across before, seeing what’s new, and I read a post about creativity and gateways to it… in the authors case, the gateway of melancholy.

“I can’t say if melancholia allows a more direct route to the creativity inside you, or it brings the mind to a near trancelike state where the ‘other world’ can come rolling in. I don’t know. I do know however, that I wish it were not so. And given the choice of living in a positive state or producing art, I’d opt of the happy former everytime. I just wish I knew how to have both. I’m sure it is possible.”
~Excerpt from Silver Lining on a Dark Cloud

I look at it as being a process, a cycle. I can relate to feeling down and putting my focus onto something like that, some form of art… sometimes, I plunge into a state of melancholy simply because I can’t seem to keep up with the pace or vitality I’d maintained for weeks. I hate that. But when you exhaust yourself, you’re going to rest whether you like it or not at some point. That resting period gives you time to reorient yourself, the quietness, the lack of writing, is kind of like recovering. And I turn my attention to other things, because I have to do something.

A slow in momentum can only be changed by increasing the motion, in one way or another. And, really, the lulls give contrast and meaning to the periods of revelation and creativity, and to the vigorous struggle one goes through to communicate them. (I could – and probably will – say more, but that I’ll leave it at that for the time being.)

Leave a Reply

