Faith In The Dark Side

I wrote, “…what is faith to you apart from it’s religious application? Does it play a role in your path as a darksider? Do you have faith in yourself or is it something different? Do you have faith in Darkness? In anything? Why, or why not?”

I’d say, after pondering it a bit, that it does play a role for me.

I’ve heard it said that there’s strength in faith… and do I have it? I’d say so: Faith in Myself. To get through and survive – and become stronger for the experiences, ‘good’ or ‘bad’ – no matter what circumstance or hardship, ups or downs, no matter what kind of doubts cross my mind. Therefore I have faith in the Dark (ref. Darkness is and the Individual).

Now… if we talk more about trust, there’s the question of what you trust someone or something to do. Do I trust myself, and by extension ‘the Dark’ (abstractly and individually), to serve my best interests? I’d say yes. When it comes to other people though, perhaps the question changes. I don’t think you can trust people or situations in the same way.

If there’s any to be had at all towards things of a more external placement… People for instance, I’d say it’s more of a question of trusting a person to be more or less true to their own nature, whether they’re scumbag pieces of shit, or the kind of man/woman you respect and admire. And with situations, I guess you might say that there are always oppurtunities of some sort to be found, or ways to survive them, so long as you can find them. Both of which would bring the actual trust/faith back to oneself.

To trust people in any way whatsoever, it seems that you’d have to trust you ability to percieve and judge them effectively. To trust the situations and experiences you encounter throughout life will be either survivable or beneficial would seem to require that you have faith in your own abilty to gauge them, seem as many angles as you need to, and follow through with the choices one needs to make to survive or thrive through it.

(From Faith In The Dark Side | A Discussion at the Force Academy)

Leave a Reply

