The Tales Of Idiots

I wonder, sometimes, about the things that entertain us, as a society. I wonder if it’s entropy, a sign of deteroration, sickness; I wonder if it’s just the same as ever, signifying nothing, not admirable or alarming; and I wonder if it’s an indicator of change, evolution… progression of some sort, towards something.

Look at what captivates audiences, nationwide and worldwide. Does it make sense, or not? Is there a reason for what people seek so that they might be entertained, or just a matter of swirls, ripples, and eddies that hold no more reason than the waves or currents of the ocean? People watch other people doing regular, every day things, and they’re entertained. Storytellers give them tales of greatness, fellowship, triumph, arrogance, danger, and, finally, they give tales that are real, and imitate the lives that any average person could live. On that last bit, let me put it this way: even I, unfortunately, know who Snookie is. And it spreads, enraptures, fades away… 

It could be said that the abundance of reality shows, of television itself, is a medium that allows for stories with a shelf life. Will Jersey Shore or American Pickers gain the longevity and endurance of such stories as Macbeth or The Odyssey? Are we better or worse than we have been? Are we moving toward anything; just drifting along; or are we sinking, weakening, falling into oblivion. I ask myself these questions from one side of the spectrum to the other, and many in between. And I don’t know what to make of it.

If you gaze far enough into the future though, even humanity has an end in sight. They’re all tales told by idiots, and we’re no better. So I suppose it’s best to keep ones eye on the proverbial ball and look ahead only as far as one must.

(I have no idea when I wrote this, the earliest date I can find attached to it is July 15th, 2012… might be an even older fragment of writing that that. I don’t care enough to dig through handwritten notes to see if I dated it originally though. *shrugs*)

2 comments

  1. Jersey Shore got cancelled. There is still worthwhile entertainment out there, it’s not so much of the evolution of humans into a dumber species ala Idiocracy in my opinion as it is just so many voices being heard at once. Some of the greatest shows, Star Trek, The Andy Griffith Show, The Twilight Zone, .etc came about in their popularity not because they were just that great, but because there were perhaps only 3-5 channels at the time. I intended to attach a graphic that represented this very well, It was with movies, imagine a Sideways V, at the beginning only a few movies were made a year. Thus very small and grouped together. Then as time passed, the V gets larger, and more and more movies were made, thus making them slightly harder to remember, and so on, until about now where the V would be at it’s furthest points from each other, instead of the base.

Leave a Reply

