Breaking The Same Old Ground

I

Below are two fragments of thought on the idea of ‘breaking the same old ground’, something I think many of the people that stick around for a few years are confronted with from time to time. I’ve had to come to terms with it anyways, and one of the ways I do that, apparently, is through examination and pondering/dwelling on it until I kind of ‘understand it’ better. lol Think of it as a coping mechanism if you want to ‘organized’ them like this because, well, they’re unorganized, mostly frewwritten little streams of thought on the idea.  

II

Sometimes I even get tired of my own vocabulary. A while back, there was a period of time I felt something like despair when I’d sit down to type or to write by hand because of constantly recurring words. Passion, strength, effort, power… words like these began to wear on me a little, reminding me every time they sprang from my fingertips that they had come from my head, my heart, my hands, countless times before. Every thing seemed exactly the same.

This is the curse of being , innately, naturally inclined to informally play the glass bead game and draw connections constantly, without end. This is the curse of seeing from a more objective perspective, seeing the long view and the bigger picture. This is the curse of remembering what’s been said before and seeing how the new things said are just variations.

Or… since the above is more about me than about the idea of bricking the same old ground, you could say this is the curse of experience, I suppose. A “been there, done that” mentality, expressed in dismissal of instances where people are exploring it as something new to them, because it’s not new to you. And if you have it, I know better than most that you’ve got to learn to deal with it.

Speaking for myself, I tend to lose a feel for any sense of purpose, satisfaction, meaning, or even desire (in certain contexts), and have found myself to be rather useless at times, when left to my own devices, cut off from the value of my own feelings and desires in relation to something simply because it feels so familiar, so stale.

III

People scoff at the old wolf and sheep anology now… and the way its refered to, as if it’s beneath them, is honestly something I sympathize with. Because really, for someone like me, it’s breaking the same old ground. I liked the change-up when Khaos used the idea of sharks and a shark tank. I adored Draeth’s pirhana lecture. But there are two things that I think of when it comes to things like this: the fishy metaphors are a different way of exploring the same thing, and for some people, the classics are fairly new to them.

The water-dwelling creatures, as with other spins on social dynamics, are fresher, newer, with a sense of originality to them – and I have to admit their appeal in that sense – and their novelty allows for more exploration, oppurtunities to see new dimensions and angles to ideas we might feel like we’ve explored inside awd out. And when I start to read something that uses the old school terms, it tends to temper my enthusiasm from the get-go simply for the lack of change in vocabulary.

But the thing to remember is that some of these have remained discarded for years, and resurrecting their use can bring the same sense of crisp, fresh perspective that a novel metaphor can. In addition to the fact that they still are new to a newcomer, lenses like that can also feel that way for the ones that’ve seen ’em used before. Half-familiar perhaps, but after being shunned and shut out for months or years, revisiting them is still a rediscovery.

Ω

Leave a Reply

