Faith In Myself

I wander around the virtual world and come across quite a few new things. One of those things is AJ Poetry, and while some of his poems touch on lighter spirituality than I want anything to do with, a lot of it is pretty awesome by my estimation. A recent poem he posted was called A Poem For Those With Trials and included with it is a new thing he’s started doing, attaching a question relating to the subject matter for the reader to answer if he or she pleases.

“AJ Poetry Question O’ The Day: Sometimes in our hardest moments we need to have the faith that there is “light at the end of the tunnel” even if we don’t see it right away. After all, faith is a belief in that which is not seen, but is true.

What helps you make it through your trials or dark moments?”

The subject of faith was brought into it, and that’s something I’ve been mulling over a bit lately. Not faith in a christian or godly sense, but faith in myself and the darkness within me. That is a big part of what I hit against, internally, when I’m in the midst of hard times: a rock solid conviction that I’ll make it through and, eventually, be stronger for it. It’s that sort of faith in myself, that knowing that I’ll fight all the way, that brought me to an appreciation for and even enjoyment in hardship, suffering, pain. It’s stimulating, it’s a challenge.

(Fragment | Written July 2nd, 2012)

Ω

2 comments

    1. A) Not all of my writings are.
      B) To the ones that are: I hadn’t decided to post them as they were until a bit of time had passed, in most cases. Some, because I wasn’t sure if I wanted to add or play with them some more and later decided “fuck it, I’ll just post it”. Others, because I had forgotten about them, and then once I saw them I figured “eh, why not post it”.

Leave a Reply

