Fucking With Perceptions

How can you ever be sure that the things your told are honest? How much of what people say to you is deceit? I don’t think you can really know the answers to these questions, but then I also happen to think it doesn’t really matter. Whatever you percieve is likely what you need (or deserve I guess) to take out of it. Me? I bend the truth to portray things as I need them to be percieved, and I’ve get no moral hang-ups to trip me up when it comes to manipulating perceptions to achieve the results I need. And I’m fucking good at it. See, the beauty of deception it the presence of truth and sincerity, the former I can toy with endlessly and am able to convey and twist is any which way I like because of my sincerity. I am sincere in my deceptions.

Take what you’re reading right now for example. Even here, I’m deceiving you a little, spinning the fact that I – and others – do this all the time in such a way that it’s easier to see for what it is, and probably making myself out to be an unsavory character. Which is an impression that would’ve served me perfectly were I still acting leader of the Dark Aspect. but even now, it serves a purpose: in portraying myself this way, I’m demonstrating that perceptions can be manipulated in about as many ways as you can imagine. Because most people, online and offline, tend to find me pretty likeable. Even people that’ve read other posts here on this blog probably don’t look at me as a scumbag. But I may have changed that – whether in a big way or a small one – in telling you how much I might fuck with the idea you have of me.

+++

People say “lead by example”, people say “communicate and be transparent”. It could be said I communicate and set an example more than anything, whether engaging in theatrics or simply doing something I want to be done. I’ve developed a habit of keeping my mouth shut about what I intend to do, or what I’m going to do. Instead, I say that I might do something, or I just do it whithout warning and explain (or not) as I please, or else I simply do it and say nothing. I prefer to scatter credit in the same way most people scatter blame, and though I often take it from those that give it to me I’d rather take criticisms, accusations, and vitriol. It suits my agenda better.

See what I mean? We manipulate the truth anyways, we shift the perceptions of others regardless of effort to do so. I just do it mindfully, to enact what I want without being overt. You set, a more straightforward approach is short-lived, so falls under the category of an effective tactic, but is far from the be all, end all of making ambitions into reality. I am above nothing. Words of encouragement, a show of gratitude, cold shouldering, passive aggressive conduct, abrasive words and insights… all is fair in Love and War.

All is fair in Life.

Of course, many of these are chains that will encumber a budding adept, and can be discarded to great effect. This opens up the opportunity to build a better foundation for them to spring from. If and as an adept progresses, it is almost inevitable that the chains will be picked up, but the adept that doesn’t lean on them as a crutch will be more victorious in whatever he turns his attention to. Ultimately, this process of seperation and reintegration serves to augment the value of these tools, and the effectiveness with which they can be applied by a Dark Adept.

(Written January 7th, 2013 // Unfinished // Initial Working Title: Lackluster)

One comment

Leave a Reply

